Reviews: Archetype Code Editor
Item logo image for Archetype Code Editor

Archetype Code Editor

4.7(

26 ratings

)
Developer Tools1,000 users

4.7 out of 5

26 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

John HJul 20, 2023

Just got started and I am very impressed. I am using a Chromebook to get most of the coding done prior to uploading to the server for testing. I am using an 11 inch display on my Chromebook, so an option would be to be able to close the right hand outline of the file and also to hide the file tree. Another suggestion would be reviewing your themes as i was looking for a light theme. The one issue I came across is that you cannot read highlighted text when you copying or whatever. These are ... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Zakarya CarrollMay 9, 2022

Please make this app open source, I would love to crack it open and look inside it. Otherwise it is a very good editor and serves my purpose very well!

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

GriphcodeOct 1, 2021

Well it would be good if Debug features and a terminal would be on this but else it's pretty good

Review's profile picture

Vinod KumarJun 20, 2021

Pretty good . Has some minor bugs & missing features but does the job pretty well . Open sourcing this would be a good idea

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Tomas PollakDeveloperSep 3, 2021

What kinds of bugs did you stumble into? Haven't had much time lately, but I plan to open source the code after some housekeeping.

Review's profile picture

Vaz 2106Apr 6, 2021

this is good

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Сергій ТищенкоApr 2, 2021

This was the first editor I tried on ChromiumOS. Turned out it is unable to open a file when I have already opened a file with a similar name (but a different path). So I've just given it a try to Code Pad and that works fine. Removed this editor.

Review's profile picture

Ian AcklamFeb 14, 2021

Just started learning javascript via udemy - i was using caret but just found this and its awesome! - the autocomplete is much better than caret, the only thing ive noticed is not being able to select all of the themes that are available, but as i said im just starting out and this seems to be a great editor! (i have tried various linux editors as well but prefer the chrome os ones tbh) - great work!

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Tomas PollakDeveloperApr 3, 2021

Thanks Ian. You can search the theme list by typing on the input bar. The one I'm currently using is called Mariana, check it out! The Solarized ones are also very popular.

Review's profile picture

Mark NewtonFeb 11, 2021

Beautiful work Tomas, thank you so much, this needs shouting about from the rooftops. At last I have a Carat replacement, and so few distractions too. Thank you so much. Is this open source, can we contribute?

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

owo booperlvJan 20, 2021

This was and probably will be for years to come - the one code editor that I'll be using any time I need to code on my chromebook. It basically has most if not all the things I'd need for front end(I usually use a test domain for the testing out the back end and server stuff). Not the most configurable as there is no "settings.json"-like-file here, but otherwise this is really great. Massive Kudos to the maker.

10 out of 15 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Tomas PollakDeveloperJan 20, 2021

This comment made my day. Thank you so much.

Review's profile picture

Lucas HernándezApr 1, 2020

Just amazing... With this app my Chrome OS device is complete. Great work. Super recommended.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Google apps