Reviews: AboveVTT
Item logo image for AboveVTT

AboveVTT

4.9(

228 ratings

)

4.9 out of 5

228 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Sean HelmeMay 22, 2024

Replaced Roll20. Huge upgrade.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

mark jetzerMay 17, 2024

After using Roll20, Foundry, Owl Bear Rodeo and the DNDbeyond Maps- Above VTT is by far the best one I've used. I don't want to say the others are bad. AboveVTT has all the right tools and ease of use. It may lack in some area. If You're all-in on DNDBeyond for books, characters, etc. AboveVTT is THE Solution. DND should just buy this and make it standard.

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Magnus GrønliMay 14, 2024

Great VTT!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Gregory TateMar 28, 2024

Used to be 5 stars here. Now, Above VTT doesn't allow me to enter copied notes from the source books or even write my own notes on the maps. Cannot place some tokens anymore. Many of my character and NPC tokens have turned into "soap bubbles" with no faces on them. What is happening??? Can't you guys fix this?

0 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Allen ZubertMar 26, 2024

Game changer for an extremely detail oriented DM like myself.

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Dom ToozeMar 22, 2024

This is free (in itself - it benefits massively from a subscription to D&D Beyond and any content owned there), and it's also the best VTT I've played with. It's mostly intuitive, it works well on my main PC and my laptops, and it honours my time. What do I mean by that? It allows me to import maps and tokens I own, it allows me to run play in just one tab (rather than the 5+ I needed when using DDB's Maps Alpha), and the devs and community are incredibly quick to offer their support in the... Show more

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Dani WFeb 7, 2024

I have Foundry and FGU, but this is so much easier to get started using, especially when I'm introducing new players to D&D. All of my books are on D&D Beyond, and with characters created there anyway, using this extension is preferable to trying to copy everything over to a standalone VTT. I'm a Patreon supporter and grateful for the ongoing development and support the AVTT team delivers!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

TheAceIsHere _ (ZanarkandAce)Jan 26, 2024

Been using this for over a year with mixed results. Far better than nothing, but now using music completely breaks any and all sources (Maps included) that are pulled from the google drive. even just changing from one song to another tends to make the whole thing act as if I have the permissions on the drive set to private for 30 min or so. Was this why all my music disappeared on one of these updates? Maybe, but to have all that tine I spent on my music undone, then to waste more time loadin... Show more

Review's profile picture

Elijah MorrisseyJan 23, 2024

The only lightweight-enough VTT for a laptop to run, as far as I can find, but also has great a feature set (simple line-of-sight, choice of either manual or auto-fog of war, great compendium of monsters and added items, and easy DDB integration with character sheets. Incredible work for free - support on Patreon if you can!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Carl JohanssonJan 22, 2024

Use it every single session, even if it's IRL.

Google apps