Reviews: a9 Web Protection: safe web filter
Item logo image for a9 Web Protection: safe web filter

a9 Web Protection: safe web filter

alphamountain.ai
4.5(

61 ratings

)
ExtensionTools10,000 users

4.5 out of 5

61 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Will AndreMay 20, 2024

Great little Chrome extension for web filtering and URL threat detection. Been using it for over a year and I'm at the point where I just trust it every time it blocks a site. So I navigate away and get on with my day. I put it on my kids' Chromebooks, too, because I don't even want to know where they're trying to go but now I don't have to worry about it. I can't believe it's free!

Review's profile picture

OnlyFindMay 19, 2024

Easy to setup but too many false positives, better to stop using internet.

Replier's profile picture

alpha MountainDeveloperMay 20, 2024

We are happy to fix any false positives you encounter. Please reply and post them here, or submit them to https://www.alphamountain.ai/contact/

Review's profile picture

Don PetersonJan 12, 2024

So far, so good. Easy to set up and to use. The only thing I would change is the ability to have a custom block screen or have blocked sites redirected to a home page or specific page.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Farzad AlipourDec 30, 2023

I absolutely love this extension. Simple yet enough features and control. I am also very impressed with the detection rate. This finds stuff that my Bitdefender XDR fail to do so.

Review's profile picture

G.SATHWIK REDDYNov 20, 2023

Fantastic works on all website excellent protection exspecially for students works in incognito toooooooooo

Review's profile picture

davhuttonNov 19, 2023

It works in incognito mode, but you must go in and turn that function on. The fact that it offers password protection against changes makes it heads above the others. It blocks porn sites well, and the only thing I can imagine adding is a time delay feature as an option instead of password protection. It can be bypassed, but I don't see it as being easy, nor can it be done without leaving a glaring trail of activity. Good app and worth the 4.5+ star reviews

Review's profile picture

Rohit ChanderAug 26, 2023

it works only in normal mode not in incognito mode. plz make the extension more powerfull so that it can stop acessing adult website from incognito mode

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Ira WeinstockAug 10, 2023

I have used many Parental Control software over the years but all of them I had limitations like only being installed on the entire device which slows it down and few categories which creates the need to always micromanage and allow more websites as however this one has many categories of different levels allowing you to customize it completely also if you are concerned parent you can see what your child is trying to access without having to go for their entire history and micromanaging them... Show more

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Moe SalihJul 30, 2023

This app can read and change all your data on all websites. My bank account got hacked 2 days after I started using this app and logged into my bank, and never been hacked for 12 years. I cant confirm that this app was spying but its highly suspicious and recommend others to keep an eye out.

Replier's profile picture

alpha MountainDeveloperJul 31, 2023

Moe, we are very sorry to hear about your bank situation, but it isn't related to our app. Our chrome extension app is created by us as a free service to protect users. The app does not scan or collect any personal information. It only inspects the sites visited to be able to block scams or other categories you want to block (like adult content). The company behind this app, alphaMountain, works with some of the largest companies in the cybersecurity industry. See them here: https://www.alphamountain.ai/ Also, here is our privacy policy: https://www.alphamountain.ai/privacy-policy/ If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact us here: https://www.alphamountain.ai/contact/

Review's profile picture

Igor ArnautovicMar 6, 2023

This app works fine, but still breaks allowed pages, making them unusable. I blocked all social media sites except LinkedIn for example, but LinkedIn appears to have broken CSS. Please fix this! And in Google Images images aren't clickable.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

alpha MountainDeveloperJul 31, 2023

Igor, thank you for the feedback. The underlying cause of your situation is that our app is checking each individual web request for categorization, not just the front page. So, if you block social media sites, but allow LinkedIn.com, other web requests from LinkedIn.com that are not on that exact web site, but categorized as Social Media will be blocked. Sorry, this is a bit technical in the explanation. Please reach out to us with any questions and we'll explain: https://www.alphamountain.ai/contact/

Google apps