Reviews: 2FA Authenticator app
Item logo image for 2FA Authenticator app

2FA Authenticator app

typingdna.com
Featured
3.3(

43 ratings

)

3.3 out of 5

43 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Aries SkyApr 27, 2024

out of nowhere requires you to use premium with no option to auto migrate to free. other than that the extension is pretty great. for anyone using brave the export button may not work (brave for some reason has issues with the save/open file prompts from webpages), it works on every other browser (chrome, chromium, edge, etc).

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperApr 28, 2024

We're sorry we didn't make this transition smoother for you. However you can still use the premium option until next month. And the migrate to free is not auto because 1. you may have multiple accounts on one machine, 2. you may have secret codes already stored in a free version which might get overwritten in the process, and 3. your secret codes may be too valuable to some clients to expose them without encryption. For these considerations we allow you to do the migration manually, which takes less than 1 minute. Thanks for editing your answer and adding more info on the browser. We do not support Brave but they may include support themselves for the Chrome file handling methods (which are used to save/load files). If you still want to export your codes, a workaround could be a Clipboard dump, and then manually introduce them in another app (could be the Free one), to do so you can open an inspect view for the 2FA Authenticator, go to Console and enter (type) this command: copyToClipboard(getBatchAccountsSecrets()); then go to a text editor and hit Paste. Please send an email to support @ typingdna.com about the issue from the email account that you are using, so that I can send you a premium coupon. Thanks!

Review's profile picture

Ning YIApr 24, 2024

suddenly announce my account needs to be upgraded to premium in order to use it in the future. But the exporting secrets functionality never works. Poor UX and business decision management

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperApr 24, 2024

I'm sorry to hear that, it may look suddlenly to you, but you have almost 1 month left to migrate to Free, which takes 1 minute, and works perfectly fine if you don't want the premium experience. The export function works as it should, actually nobody else ever said that the export function doesn't work so far, please read the rest of the reviews to confirm. Can you elaborate on what exactly doens't work with the export function? or how would you expect it to work?

Review's profile picture

tabliqat chiApr 20, 2024

You have an error in your code probably, I get wrong codes for my GitHub account although I'm using your QR code auto scanner and let it scan my QR code in my GitHub 2FA settings page. So I do the setup all automatically (no human errors) and still the codes generated don't work.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperApr 23, 2024

I use 2FA Authenticator with GitHub code all the time and it works perfectly. I just tried to replicate your issue and was not able to. I suggest instead of scanning the QR in your case, to manually copy and paste the secret code in the app. If the generated code still doesn't work, it might be some other issue (Most probably your computer time, you know the TOTP algorithm is based on a hash of secret-and-time function, the QR code provides the secret, your computer time needs to be synced, the TOTP code can be validated only within a 30 seconds interval). I hope this helps. Please confirm what worked. Thanks!

Review's profile picture

Muhammad HaroonDec 24, 2023

it works but sometimes it gives wrong codes and sometimes right

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperFeb 26, 2024

That is literally impossible. We use the standard TOTP algorithm and as long as your secret was introduced correctly and your local time is kept updated, your codes should always be right. We were not able to replicate this issue not even once.

Review's profile picture

Lucas GamingOct 22, 2023

I CAN'T GET IN MY 2FA PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7 out of 13 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

A NizarSep 16, 2023

i made an account and put 2fa for my instagram on it after i woke up the next day the account isnt in the extension and it says it doesnt exist

3 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperFeb 26, 2024

Make sure you log in with exact same email and on exact same machine+Chrome user. Keep in mind that these are local accounts.

Review's profile picture

Eric FosterJun 3, 2023

used this worked fine at first i download the extension on my new computer and all of a sudden my email and password dosent exsist then it creates a whole brand new account using the email i registered with and logged me out of both my old and new devices

2 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperMay 7, 2024

The account is local (it stays on one machine on which you create it), it will not work on a new machine. This is explained from the moment you register the account and on the product page. This is how the app is designed to work. On a new machine your local user from the old machine should not exist.

Review's profile picture

2 2 (‪Ascendant‬)Apr 26, 2023

This actually works, unlike other apps that require a mobile device

7 out of 7 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Benjamín ÁrnicaDec 25, 2022

I lost all my accounts because the next day I tried to login In it just said there was no account

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperMay 7, 2024

It's highly possible that you tried to use a different email, or a different machine. Note that the account you create is local, only on the machine you created it. The email you use when you log in needs to be exactly the same otherwise it will not be the same account that you are logging in.

Review's profile picture

Gerrit KruijerDec 9, 2022

Works great; no backup possible. Like to have an option to save the QR-code and key to a file.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Raul PopaDeveloperFeb 26, 2024

You can download/upload a backup file now. However no backup in the cloud is enabled because that could leave more options open for hackers.

Google apps